For writers and readers of mystery

“The criminal is the creative artist; the detective only the critic.”

G K Chesterton


Latest interviews

Fiona Veitch Smith is the author of the Poppy Denby Investigates novels, Golden Age-style murder mysteries set in the 1920s published by Lion Fiction.
The first book, The Jazz Files, was shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger, while subsequent books have been shortlisted for the Foreword Review Mystery Novel of the Year  and the People’s Book Prize.
Fiona lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Newcastle upon Tyne.
She works part time for the Crime Writers’ Association and is the Deputy Editor of Red Herrings magazine.


Leigh Russell is well-known to readers of Mystery People and was first interviewed for the December 2012 issue of this e-Zine to celebrate the publication of her fifth Geraldine Steel novel.  She has since published eleven more novels featuring Steel, two additional crime series, two stand-alone psychological thrillers and a work of dystopian fiction.
She has won numerous awards for her writing and has sold over a million books.
Leigh also critiques for the Crime Writers Association, chairs the CWA Debut Dagger Award judging panel, and works as a Consultant Fellow for the Royal Literary Fund.  Leigh attends many conferences over the course of each year and was Guest of Honour at this year’s MysteryFest in Portsmouth.
Her latest novel, Deep Cover, was published by
No Exit Press on 24 August 2021.





All interviews